ALBRECHT IMBESCHEID (b.1950): Farben der Stille, KAIJA SAARIAHO (b.1952): Nymphea, MORTON FELDMAN (1926-1987): For Frank O'Hara, TORU TAKEMITSU (1930-1996): Rain Spell, SCOTT ROLLER (b.1959): Serraval.

Catalogue Number: 09K111

Label: Cybele

Reference: 361.201

Format: CD

Price: $19.98

Description: The title of the CD "Colours of silence" is a bit misleading, as only one piece - the Feldman - really explores the nuances of the 'flat surface with a minimum of contrast' best exemplified in music by Cage's 4'33". Roller's brief character pieces range between the contemplative aand the vigorously dramatic, while Takemitsu's work, part of a series concerned with water, has a flow and constantly changing texture; there is plenty of color, as usual with this composer, but never silence. Saariaho's exquisite electroacoustic work expands the nuances of string sounds through live electronic manipulation; fragments of melody blend with one-dimensional laters of textured sound to create a complex web of constantly shifting sonority. Imbescheid's piece begins with a shock, the reverberations of which seem to permeate the remainder of the work's six movements, which range from the inward-looking to the uneasy stillness of pent-up potential energy, to overt action, even violence. Inventive instrumentation and explicit tonal referents within a predominantly modern idion add to the work's forceful sense of drama. Ensemble Gelber Klang. SACD hybrid.


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.