JAN VÁCLAV TOMASEK (1774-1850): An Linna, Wanderers Nachtlied, An den Mond, Auf dem See, Erlkönig, Der König von Thule, Der Fischer, Heidenröslein, An die Entfernte, Nähe des Geliebten, Die Spröde, Die Bekehrte, Vorschlag zur Güte, Die Spinnerin, Das Veilchen, Erster Verlust, Schäfers Klagelied, Sorge, Frühzeitiger Frühling, Mignons Sehnsucht, Das Geheimnis, Rastlose Liebe.

Catalogue Number: 02N034

Label: Paladino Music

Reference: pmr 00216

Format: CD

Price: $18.98

Description: Amazingly, this is the third all-lieder Tomasek CD (of course, the other two are out-of-print) after the 1995 Multisonic and the 1997 Ars Musici reissue of a Deutsche Harmonia Mundi 1981 LP, the latter also all-Goethe like this one; half of the songs here were also on the Ars Musici, if you need to know). Stylistically, Tomásek is halfway between the early, simplistic style of setting German poetry in which the music really just accentuates the rhyme and meter of the poetry, and the early Romantic style one associates with Schubert. True lieder collectors won't hesitate to get this brand-new recording on an Austrian label new to the U.S. (and, yes, that's the former music director of the Mozarteum Orchestra of Salzburg, now 75, at the piano). German texts. Ildikó Raimondi (soprano), Robert Heger (piano).


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.