JAMES LYNAM MOLLOY (1837-1909): Love's old sweet song, MAUD WHITE (1855-1937): So we'll go no more a-roving, The Devout Lover, The Spring has come, EDWARD ELGAR (1857-1934): Speak, music, Op. 41/2, Pleading, Op. 48/1, LIZA LEHMANN (1862-1918): Ah, moon of my delight, Love, if you knew the light, Pa's Bank, RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS (1872-1958): Silent noon from The House of Life, GRAHAM PEEL (1877-1937): Almond, wild almond, The early morning from The Country Lover, ROGER QUILTER (1877-1953): There be none of Beauty's daughters, Op. 24/1, Now sleeps the crimson petal, Op. 3/2, Love's Philosophy, Op. 3/1, PERCY GRAINGER (1882-1961): The power of love, CECIL ARMSTRONG GIBBS (1889-1960): Hypochondriacus, A Song of Shadows, Op. 15/3, PETER WARLOCK (1894-1930): Take, O take those lips away, The night, Queen Anne, E.J. MOERAN (1894-1950): In youth is pleasure, IVOR GURNEY (1879-1937): Goodnight to the meadow, The boat is chafing, GUSTAV HOLST (1874-1934): Journey's End, Op. 48/9, Betelgeuse, Op. 48/15.

Catalogue Number: 02N090

Label: Hyperion

Reference: CDA 67888

Format: CD

Price: $18.98

Description: Avoiding the most famous composers but including some fairly well-known songs among mostly rather unknown ones, mezzo Coote and pianist Johnson planned a chronological English songbook, dating from the beginning of the 1880s and ending at the end of the 1920s. The title of the disc is its theme - "The Power of Love" - but love of music and of nature as well as romantic love. Texts included. Alice Coote (mezzo), Graham Johnson (piano).


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.