E.J. MOERAN (1894-1950): Complete Solo Songs - Spring goeth all in white, When June is come, Mantle of Blue, Twilight, Ludlow Town, 2 Songs, In Youth is Pleasure, The Merry Month of May, A Dream of Death, Come Away, Death, Troll the Bowl, Can't You Dance the Polka!, Mrs Dyer, the Baby Farmer, Maltworms, 7 Poems by James Joyce, When I came last to Ludlow, 'Tis time, I think, by Wenlock town, Far in a western brookland, Loveliest of trees, Oh fair enough are sky and plain (3 versions), Weep you no more, The Sweet o' the Year, The Day of Palms, Blue-eyed Spring, Rosefrail, Tilly, Rahoon, 4 English Lyrics, 4 Shakespeare Songs, Diaphenia, Rosaline, The Monk's Fancy, Invitation in Autumn, If There Be Any Gods, 6 Poems of Seumas O'Sullivan.

Catalogue Number: 06L089

Label: Chandos

Reference: 10596(2)

Format: CD

Price: $18.98

Description: Moeran's songs have been oddly neglected by record labels, so this complete recording at mid-price is doubly attractive. About twice as many of these 57 songs set poets still living in Moeran's time or just recently deceased; the rest are 16th and 17th century texts with one sea shanty and one anonymous Victorian crime ballad. The Guardian sums up perfectly in its May 23 review: "His love of folk song and his natural lyricism produced song settings of wistful poignancy, especially the Ludlow Town poems of A.E. Housman. This welcome, complete Chandos collection conjures a pastoral, mystical England (and Ireland, too; Moeran was famous for propping up the bars in Kenmare)". 2 CDs for the price of 1. Texts included. Geraldine McGreevy (soprano), Adrian Thompson (tenor), Roderick Williams (baritone), John Talbot (piano).


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.