SERGEI RACHMANINOV (1873-1943)/EARL WILD (1915-2010): Song Transcriptions - Dreams, Op. 38/5, Where beauty dwells, Op. 21/7, O, cease thy singing, Op. 4/4, Sorrow in Springtime, Op. 21/12, The little island, Op. 14/2, The Muse, Op. 34/1, Midsummer night, Op. 14/5, To the Children, Op. 26/7, Do not grieve, Op. 14/8, In the silent night, Op. 4/3, Harvest of sorrow, Op. 4/5, Vocalise, Op. 34/14, Floods of spring, Op. 14/11.

Catalogue Number: 06R045

Label: Piano Classics

Reference: PCL0102

Format: CD

Price: $18.98

Description: Wild made all but two of these transcriptions in 1981 and, unlike his other free-wheeling and elaborate improvisational-style pieces in the genre, these stick close to the original songs, Wild saying that he “wouldn’t write anything on the page that wasn’t somewhere in Rachmaninoff’s works either in his decorations or his chordal structures”. Giovanni Doria-Miglietta (piano).


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.