BENJAMIN BRITTEN (1913-1976): Songs, Vol. 1 - 2 songs from Fish in the unruffled lakes, A Dirge*, Virtue in Deeds not Words*, Prithee*, Lucy*, Canticle I, Um Mitternacht, 6 Hölderlin-Fragmente, The Holy Sonnets of John Donne, Cabaret Songs, Tit for Tat, Beware!, Lilian, The Joy of Grief*, The Poet's Echo, Winter Words.

Catalogue Number: 07N083

Label: Onyx Classics

Reference: 4071

Format: CD

Price: $33.98

Description: This series, carrying the imprimateur of Aldeburgh Music and the Britten heirs, will contain the complete original songs for solo voice and piano (using, as you'll note, five different tenors - so you won't have to worry about finding a particular voice not to your taste!). There are five first recordings here (marked with * above) which date from 1926 (although the earliest songs come from the 9- and 10-year old composer.) 2 CDs. Texts included. Andrew Tortise, James Geer, Ben Johnson, Nicky Spence, Robin Tritschler (tenors), Caryl Hughes (mezzo), Philip Smith (baritone), Katherine Broderick (soprano), Malcolm Martineau (piano).


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.