HAMILTON HARTY (1879-1941): Songs - Sea Wrack, Scythe Song, My Lagan Love, The Blue Hills of Antrim, A Cradle Song,The Song of Glen Dun, Mignonette, By the Sea, The Fiddler of Dooney, To the Gods of Harbour and Headland, The Lowlands of Holland, By the Bivouac’s Fitful Flame, Dreaming, The Stranger's Grave, Poppies, Flame in the Skies of Sunset, Lane o’ the Thrushes, A Lullaby, My Thoughts of You, Your Hand in Mine, Beloved, At Easter, Come, O Come, My Life’s Delight, Adieu, Sweet Amaryllis, Piano Pieces: Arlequin and Columbine, Idyll.

Catalogue Number: 07W043

Label: SOMM

Reference: SOMMCD 0616

Format: CD

Price: $18.98

Description: The 23 featured songs include settings that speak eloquently of Harty’s abiding engagement with his Irish heritage and point, in the technical demands made of vocalist and pianist alike, to his innate understanding of the song form in all its concentrated, emotional power. Also included are two early, unpublished works for solo piano. All but the first seven songs in the list above are First Recordings. Texts included. Kathryn Rudge (mezzo), Christopher Glynn (piano).


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.