JULIUS RÖNTGEN (1855-1932): Symphonies No. 7 in F Minor “Edinburgh”, No. 11 in G Minor “Wirbel”*, No. 12 in C “In Babylone”, No. 14 in D “Winterthur”, No. 22 in F Sharp*, No. 23 in C Minor* and No. 24 in E*. * - First Recordings.

Catalogue Number: 11X001

Label: CPO

Reference: 777 309-2

Format: CD

Price: $33.98

Description: After four years, this series appears to have reached its end with this big multi-symphony release. Röntgen’s last 18 symphonies begin with the Edinburgh here, written to commemorate an honorary degree from the University of that Scottish city. All 18 were also written in 1930-33; five of those on this disc are single-movement works ranging from 10 to 16 minutes while the other two are in four-movement form (22 and 17 minutes). Professor Donald Francis Tovey, who proposed the degree, considered Röntgen the last link in a chain proceeding from Beethoven, Schubert and Brahms and all these and, indeed his first six symphonies are Röntgen’s own contributions to that already extinct tradition. 2 CDs. Brandenburg State Orchestra Frankfurt (7, 12 & 14), Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra; David Porcelijn.


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.